Fire Emblem Three Houses (FE3H) - Wiki Guide & Walkthrough
Difficulty & Game Modes - How to Change

FE3H | Difficulty & Game Modes - How to Change | Fire Emblem Three Houses

Last Updated:
FE3H | Difficulty & Game Modes - How to Change | Fire Emblem Three Houses - GameWith
Hot Topic
Learn Best Character to Recruit Here!

Find out Fire Emblem Three Houses' Difficulty & Mode settings here. This includes the available difficulties and modes, how to change them, and more. Find out which difficulty you should choose!!!

Table of Contents

All Beginner's Guide & Tips List

Available Difficulty Levels & How to Change

Available Difficulty Levels & How to Change

Whatever difficulty setting you choose will affect the combat in your game. This includes how much stronger your enemies will be and their placements during fights.

Different Difficulty Settings


Normal is recommended for new players or to those who would rather focus on progressing the story. It's the basic of the difficulty settings.


Hard amps up the difficulty when it comes to combat. This is recommended for more experienced players or to those who are familiar with the series combat mechanics.

How to Adjust Difficulties

At the Start of a New Game

Upon starting a new game, you'll be prompted to choose your difficulty before the first cutscene.

Anytime in the Game

Players are free to change their difficulty anytime during their playthrough. However, it can only be done to lower difficulty. Raising the difficulty will require you to start a new game.

Available Modes and How to Change

Available Modes and How to Change

Modes will dictate whether characters in the game will die or not when they lose in battle. Death is permanent and cannot be reversed so choose your mode carefully.

Check Out Points of No Return Here

Different Game Modes


In Casual, characters will return from combat even if they lose. This will ensures that characters will survive throughout the story.


Classic, on the other hand, will apply permadeath to any character who loses in combat. This means characters, even those you romance, can be cut from the game.

How to Adjust Modes

Can Only Be Done at the Start of the Game

Players can only chose the modes they want to play at the start of a new game. Modes cannot be changed anymore after this.

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - Related Articles

Story Walkthrough & Battle Guide

DLC Story Walkthrough

All Story Walkthrough List

Game Database

Beginner Tips

Developed by INTELLIGENT SYSTEMS, Co-developed by KOEI TECMO GAMES CO., LTD. Published by Nintendo
Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Its licensors have not otherwise endorsed and are not responsible for the operation of or content on this site.
Fire Emblem: Three Houses Official Site (EN)
Fire Emblem: Three Houses Official Site (JP)

Have some feedback? Click here

Your feedbacks will be checked by our staffs and will be attended to accordingly. Please be advised that we may not reply to every individual feedbacks.

Reader Comments
Max. 300 Characters

By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Terms of Use.
*Offensive, insulting or inappropriate use of forum may lead to ban/restriction.
To avoid griefing, you will not be able to post or report for the first %d hours upon visiting this forum for the first time.

Anonymous 1

Where do I go in the menus to change difficulty in game? Currently in Maddening and want to drop down to Hard.

Article Menu
Cindered Shadows DLC
DLC Story Walkthrough
Story Strategy Guide
White Clouds (Academy)
Azure Moon (Dimitri)
Verdant Wind (Claude)
Crimson Flower (Edelgard)
Silver Snow (Church)
Character & Class
Beginner's Tips
Academy Activities
Useful Information