FGO(Fate/GrandOrder) : Tips & Guides
How to perform Ascensions and which Servants to prioritize
【FGO】How to perform Ascensions and which Servants to prioritize【Fate/Grand Order】 - GameWith

FGO | Fate/Grand Order
How to perform Ascensions and which Servants to prioritize

Last Updated:
Hot Topic
Check Out Servant Tier List !
Related Featured Articles

On this page you'll find our explanation of the Ascension game mechanic in FGO. We'll tell you how to Ascend, and which Servants you should Ascend first. Please use this as your guide when performing Ascensions in FGO.

How to Ascension eyecatch


What is an Ascension?

Increase your Servant's Level cap

Ascension eyecatch

The Ascension mechanic allows you to increase your Servant's Level cap. Regardless of rarity, Servants can only Ascend four times. On the 4th Ascension the character's card art, called their "Saint Graph" dramatically changes.

Levels are different depending on rarity

Although the number of times a Servant can Ascend is fixed at four regardless of rarity, the maximum Level they can be raised to with Ascension does vary. This Level rises in proportion to their rarity. It's possible to train a ★5 Servant up to a Level cap of 90.

Level caps for each Ascension

Number of times1★2★3★4★5★
Initial stageLv20Lv25Lv30Lv40Lv50

The benefits of Ascending

Unlock new Skills

Essentially new Skills are unlocked on the first and third Ascensions, benefiting you by expanding a Servant's range of use. A very small number of Servants unlock their third Skill by Ascending for the final time and clearing Interlude and Rank Up Quests.

In addition, when a Servant's Level rises, their Status also rises

The second advantage to Ascending is that by increasing a Servant's Level cap and further raising their Level, it's possible to boost their Status even more. This is especially beneficial to Low Star Servants with a low initial maximum Level.

Change Servant illustrations and Character Skins

On the first and third Ascensions, a Servant's illustrations and Character Skin used during battle will change. This doesn't directly alter their abilities, but is fun and acts as a motivating factor. On the fourth (and final) Ascension, although their Character Skin won't change, a specially illustrated card art becomes available.

What about a summary?

Changes according to Ascension listed below


How to Ascend and what are the conditions?

You must reach the Level cap

Ascensions can be performed by choosing the "Ascension (Servant Evolution)" option in the Enhance screen, found in the MENU tab. In order to perform an Ascension, a Servant must have been Enhanced until they are at their Level cap.

You need Items and QP

In order to Ascend, not only must Servants be Enhanced until they've reached their Level cap, they also need Items and QP. The Items necessary depend on the Servant - and the amount of QP depends on their rarity.

The higher the rarity the more Items and QP are needed

The amount of Items and QP needed for Ascension goes up in proportion to a Servant's rarity. Also, there are some Items that are impossible to acquire until certain parts of the story have been cleared, so in the early stages of the game Ascension for some Servants can be a problem.

Tap to Item List & Best Farming Location

Servants to prioritize when Ascending

Servants that unlock top Skills

It is best to unlock Skills as early as possible that enable new actions, such as NP gauge charge or Evasion. If you don't have access to these Skills without Ascending, you should focus on Ascension as a priority.

Low Star Servants require less Items

Low Star Servants who need less Items to Ascend can be Ascended even very early on in the game. It's a good idea to focus on these Servants whose Items are easy to come by, rather than High Star Servants who require Items difficult to farm.

FGO(Fate/GrandOrder) Related Article

Beginner's Content
Way to RerollReroll Tier List
Summary of command cardsRecommended CE Lv Up
How to increase damageQP farming Guide
How to Lv up SkillsHow to Ascensions
Holy Grails GuideCrystallized Lores Guide
NP & OverCharge GuideHidden status Guide

All trademarks, character and/or image used in this article are the copyrighted property of their respective owners.
▶Fate/Grand Order Official Website

Have some feedback? Click here

Your feedbacks will be checked by our staffs and will be attended to accordingly. Please be advised that we may not reply to every individual feedbacks.

Reader Comments
Max. 300 Characters

By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Terms of Use.
*Offensive, insulting or inappropriate use of forum may lead to ban/restriction.
To avoid griefing, you will not be able to post or report for the first %d hours upon visiting this forum for the first time.


Looks like nobody posted here yet...

Article Menu